doggie trail

Mini Cheesecake Bites

 

I got the baking bug again. I became obsessed with making cheesecake when I was watching Martha Bakes randomly one night. I don’t know if this is the same recipe she used, but I’m pretty sure its fairly similar. I initially wanted to make a cheesecake with sour cream, but somehow it got lost in the shuffle and I went on cheesecake autopilot. Then I remembered the leftover chocolate sauce I had made that was in the fridge.

Here’s the general mini cheesecake bites recipe I followed. It would probably make 36 mini bites, but I did 24 minis and six maxis (um, extra large muffin tins).

  • 2 (8 ounce) packages softened cream cheese
  • 2 room temperture eggs
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • Nilla wafers
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Put muffin liners into mini-muffin tin.
  3. Crumble Nilla wafers into each muffin cup.
  4. Mix cream cheese, sugar and vanilla on medium speed until smooth.
  5. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well in between, until creamy.
  6. Fill each muffin cup 3/4 full.
  7. Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until the center is set and bounces back after lightly tapping it.
  8. Drop a 1/2 teaspoon full of chocolate glaze ontop of each cheesecake bite.
  9. Cool completely.
  10. Refrigerate overnight.
  11. Feed to coworkers.

The chocolate sauce was an Evil Paula Deen recipe that I used when I made her evil NY cheesecake.

Paula Deen’s Chocolate Glaze:
1/4 cup butter
2 (1-ounce) squares semisweet chocolate
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

In a medium saucepan melt butter over medium-low heat. Add chocolate to the butter. Whisk in sugar, whipping cream, cocoa powder, vanilla, and salt. Whisk until combined. Cook over medium-low heat for 2 minutes while whisking constantly.

I still have a crapload of cream cheese left, so I will probably do that sour cream based cake or cupcake one this week. I’m also fixating on making a red velvet cake/cupcake.

This entry was published on March 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm and is filed under baking, DigiShots, food. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell us about it...

