doggie trail

London Calling

My business trip required a few stops. London, Manchester, London, Birmingham, London, Manchester, then London again. My trip had multiple sub trips and a whole lot of train. If only it were an 80s montage with the Clash song, London Calling.

As with most trip planning, it didn’t sound all too terrible on paper. In actuality, it was very stressful to re-pack, check out, work, travel again, check in, check out, work, travel, check in… Everyday felt like a travel day, because, let’s face it, it pretty much was!

In the US, we drive or fly to get to other towns or states. I understand there are a lot of commuters that train it to work everyday, but it certainly has another travel feel. I quite enjoyed our Virgin train trips. It was like flying with less stress and like a nicer train commute. Probably because we took some great advice to book first class for a small increase in fare.

The train to Manchester was about 3 hours. Most of the trains had wifi and offered a hot meal and cocktails in first class. I have to say, 3 hours went pretty quickly. Birmingham was only about an hour, but the countryside views were phenomenal. My shutterbug tourist was showing as I snapped shots out the window most of the ride. Most of the passengers take these trains everyday and never look out the window.

The British sure know their snacks. What they don’t know is American snacks. Each leg of our travels brought these addictive “Classic American style” pretzels in sour cream and chive flavour. They were light and had no familiar dark brown pretzel ‘skin’. What made me laugh was I’ve never seen pretzels like this in America. Classic American style, huh? It didn’t even have a classic American pretzel color, I’m confused. Plus we also don’t have flavours, we have flavors. What’s with that u anyhow?

When the train attendant came through for drinks, I tried to order classic British drinks, like gin and tonic. I know I’m not mistaking this Beefeater as a classic British gin, right? Just like a “banoffee” is classic American. Oh you never heard of banoffee? Me either. The train attendant was stunned when we had no idea what that was… “I thought it was an American treat? You know, banana and toffee… banoffee.” Uh, not in my part of America, but I sure wouldn’t object.  We can just replace the apple pie with this, right?

This entry was published on March 24, 2012 at 1:38 pm. It’s filed under DigiShots, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “London Calling

  1. You really make it seem really easy together with your presentation but I find this matter to be really one thing which I feel I’d by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely vast for me. I’m taking a look forward to your next publish, I’ll try to get the hold of it!

    Like

Tell us about it...

